Happy Endings

I finally put my finger on what it is about Jane Austen that I don’t like.  She all but ends every book with “and they lived happily ever after.”  It’s like reading Disney movies.  Don’t get me wrong I love the happy ending *snicker* almost as much as everyone else but some times there needs to be a little tragedy.  How can you know how sweet some thing is if you don’t know bitter it could be. 

I just finished Emma today.  I was surprised that about half way I actually started liking the book.  Jane Austen said that she set out to write a heroine that no one liked but her.  I liked Emma, there are several other characters that needed a STFU. 

There are a couple of character types that always seem to make an appearance in JA books.  The mothers of the heroines are either dead or ineffective and members of the clergy are sycophants.

The most recent edition of the book 1001 Books To Read Before You Die has reduced the number of must read Jane Austen books to 4: Emma, Mansfield Park, Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility.   I started S&S today and one that is done I will mark Jane of my list.  I may come back and read her other books but…not anytime soon.

One Response

  1. absolutely… I’m right with you there. I hate Austen’s endings… as I said on my recent review of Cold Comfort Farm which is a satirical slap in the face to Austen which you MUST read.

    http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books/?p=2106

Leave a Reply

