Books I Hated and One I Didn’t

I hate hating a book.  I hate even more that I wasted my time reading a book that I didn’t like.  Interestingly the books I’ve really disliked have all been audiobooks. Hmmm…coincidence?  I think not.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson.  I have no druggy past to use as a point of reference that everyone I know who likes this books seems to have.  By the end of this book Thompson and his lawyer Dr. Gonzo came off as self-indulgent tools.  Congratulations Hunter S. Thompson you harassed the maids in a Las Vegas hotel.  In the early 70s these women were probably making about $2 an hour which is not enough to have to deal with your drug-fueled bullshit.  It didn’t help that the reader of the audiobook sounded a lot like Dr. Zoidberg from Futurama and I kept expecting him to ask for a sandwich.

Crome Yellow by Aldus Huxley.  Haven’t got a clue what this book was about partly because I quit listening.  This was a Librivox recording read by a volunteer.  I know I shouldn’t complain because this guy took his time to read the book.  Too bad he read it like he was calling a golf tournament. All I can tell anyone about this book is there is a character named Mr. Barbeque-Smith.

Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad.  This book was just boring and the inspiration for the movie Apocalypse Now.  Zzzzzz.

Emma by Jane Austen.  Did not hate this book which comes as a surprise to me.  It had a rough start but by the end I didn’t hate it.  Would I read it again?  Probably not.  Would I get all swoony and wax poetic about how it is the. best. book. EVER!  umm…no.  It didn’t suck and I’m glad I read it.

2 Responses

  1. i like your style. It’s not often a reviewer is as candid as you are. The blog Dead White Guys is also worth reading I think. And you read a lot that we have in common. My reviews of the above:

    Fear & Loathing: http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books/?p=79
    Crome Yellow: http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books/?p=10
    heart of Darkness: http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books/?p=9
    Emma – not read yet.

    I’ll be subscribing to your blog to see what the future brings.

    BTW, if you’re into the 1001 books list, do you have a copy of the new v4 of the spreadsheet? If not, try

    http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books/?page_id=1806

  2. I should have included a link to that Dead White Guys blog as there are a number of different ones out there in Google:

    http://deadwhiteguyslit.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

