Audiobooks

I resisted audiobooks for a long time.  I didn’t think I had the attention span necessary to listen to someone read to me, at least not without falling asleep.  Once I figured out that listening to audiobooks was a more active form of listening than say listening to music I can’t get enough of them.  I have read 22 books this year of those only 6 were “real” books.  If it weren’t for audiobooks I probably wouldn’t get through 22 books in a year let alone 4 months.

One of the best discoveries I made last year was librivox.org.  There are 3500+ books in the librivox catalog all read by volunteers.  The downside to volunteer readers is quality control is non-existant.  I have learned that books with a single reader are better than those read by multiple readers.  My two favorite readers are Elizabeth Klett and Adrian Preatzellis.  Without exception they produce quality recordings.  If it hadn’t been for Elizabeth Klett I wouldn’t have made it through Emma in a single attempt and it will forever be Adrian Preatzellis’ Badger I hear when I read Wind In The Willows to my son.

If you haven’t tried audiobooks I highly recommend giving them a try.

Leave a Reply

