The Name of the Rose

I FINISHED!  and before the end of June.  I was so pleased with myself I treated me to 2 Janet Evanovich books. 

I liked this book but I feel like I need to go back and read it again.   It is not just the story of murder in a 14th century Italian monastery you also get a history lesson in some obscure history of the Catholic church.   Running along side and through the fabric of the mystery are threads of heresy, squabbles over Jesus’ poverty, and questions about whether Jesus laughed. 

The only real problem I had reading this book was it really isn’t told in a linear fashion.  It does not move from Point A to Point B to Point C.  The story is told in more of a loop-the-loop fashion.  The narrator is Adso a young novice taken from his monastery in Melk, Germany by his father and assigned as an assistant to William of Baskerville who is on his way to examine claims/fears of heresy before the arrival of the Papal Legates.   Adso tells the story up to a point then something will take him on a dogleg that sometimes seems to wonder without direction until something brings him right back to the point where he diverged.  Once you get used to these side trips it becomes easier to get through the book.

As for the movie.  I’m kind of sorry we watched it.  I remember seeing it back in the early 90s and thought it was a good movie, but watching it right after finishing the book was a big mistake.  I’m sure my husband was not thrilled to listen to me for nearly 2 hours saying “that wasn’t in the book” and “that’s not how it happened in the book” and “they left _____ out”. 

So I ask you “would Jesus laugh?’

Leave a Reply

