52

While not exactly the answer to life, the universe and everything it is the number of books I read this year.  Can I get a WOOT WOOT!!

In 2009 I only read 17 books so I set a goal to read 25 books in 2010.  Little did I know that audiobooks would be like Lay’s Potato Chips: you can’t have just one.  In fact 32 of the 52 books I read this year were audiobooks.  It all comes down to logistics.  I have roughly 60 to 90 minutes a day to read a book I have to hold and I have about 20 hours a week that I can listen while I work. 

I discovered the Playaway this year.  It has the same surface are as a credit card but is much thicker.  Now instead of having to stop listening when I have to get up to do something I can keep listening because this little beauty can be worn around my neck.  The downside is they run in the neighborhood of about $60 each so I get them from my local library.

There is a new addition to the family this year.  My new Kindle.  I love it.  I have had it for 3 weeks and I already have almost 30 books downloaded.For the first time in a long time my Christmas bonus was not earmarked for something stupid like rent or groceries so I actually got to spend my bonus on me.  Of course I did buy it while I still had a library book that I needed to finish.  Having all those books that I want to read is like when I was a kid and my mother would make cookie dough that had to rest in the refrigerator for 24 hours.  Just like it was torture knowing there were potential cookies I couldn’t eat it is torture having books I can’t read until I’m done with the one I have.

My goal for 2011 is to read 55 books so wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

