Sunday Is For Baking

WOOT! My second post in 2012.  This means I have posted twice as must as I did last year and it is only January.  Don’t stop me now I am on a roll.

I finished Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.  I really enjoyed it, but then again I expected to since so many people told they liked it as well.  It made me wonder a little about all those people I make a point of not making eye contact with on the train.   I have since moved on to Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb.  I’m still pretty new at the Fantasy genre and after plowing through George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, I’m thinking I should have taken some time off to read something completely different to cleanse my literary palette.   Don’t get me wrong, at the half way point Assassin’s Apprentice is still a good book but I don’t think I have been able to appreciated it as much as had I waited a couple of months.

When we moved into our new offices this past November we lost a handful of old friends: internet radio, our heaters for the cooler parts of the office, our fans for the hotter parts of the office and our trusty old toaster oven.  Well, it turns out the new building doesn’t allow any of these things.  Of all those things I miss the toaster oven the most.  I probably start 200 of my 260 work days (not including holidays, vacation and sick days) with a delicious high carb item like  bagel or english muffin.  Since they failed to retain the services of Toasty I have had to find another way to start my day.  Oatmeal was a bust since it took too much effort, cereal and milk involves carrying too much stuff and yogurt just doesn’t hit the carb spot.  So I settled on muffins.  I tried the recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and they turned out dry as stones.  Warming them didn’t help.  Butter didn’t help.  By Friday it was hard to choke them down even with a large cup of coffee.

So I went looking for a new recipe and thought “I wonder if there are any muffin recipes with yogurt”.  Lo and behold there are.  Lots of them.  I didn’t make it past the first one.  These are without a doubt the best damned muffins I have ever eaten…and I’ve eaten a few.  The list of add ins are only limited by your imagination.  Our favorite is chocolate chip.  Apple comes in a very close second.  I even tried to make a Dutch Apple muffin but the brown sugar crumble stuff ended up sinking to te middle so they turned out more Dutch Apple Surprise.

My advice is go RIGHT NOW and print that recipe.  You can thank me later.

Leave a Reply

