Have You Ever Found Yourself

nearing the end of a book and realizing you just don’t care how it ends?  This is how I feel about Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Mists of Avalon.  This book has been floating around my To Be Read Someday list for almost 20 years and one day at the library I stumbled across their copy and figured what the hell I was here looking for something to read.  I am on page 746 of 876 and I just can’t keep reading.  I just don’t care.  I think this reviewer from amazon.com sums it up best:  it was a thinly veiled radical feminist, neo-pagan, anti-Christian screed.   Now don’t get my wrong I am a non-christian, feminist woman and this book bugged the crap out of me.  Vivianne and Morgaine (Morgan le Faye) came across as morally superior, Gwenhwyfar (Guinevere) is a weak spirited, hysterical, fanatical Christian whose fanaticism has rendered her infertile.  Sweet baby cheeses it got old real fast.  I wanted the women to be strong and self-assured, instead they were  scheming and self-righteous.  The treatment of the men was not any better as they all came across as weak willed and easily lead.  This book is going back to the library tomorrow, I am not wasting one more precious minute on this tripe.

Plus I just checked out New York by Edward Rutherford on my Kindle.  I hope I love it as much as I loved London and Sarum.

So tell my have you ever just stopped reading a book because you just couldn’t find the energy keep going?  I would love to hear from you if you are reading this, even if you disagree on my opinion of this book.  Maybe especially if you disagree with my opinion of this book.

 

Leave a Reply

